How were you Compassionate Today?

Help! My Psychology class has an assignment to live one day as compassionately as possible. We are asked to define compassion, and if possible be compassionate to groups that we normally don’t consider or come in contact with.

20130903-095421.jpg

So, I would love your ideas to help me make the most of this experience. Just leave a note below with your thoughts:
1) How to define compassion.
2) Unique ways to behave compassionately, that we normally don’t think of.

I’ll post a summary of my experience for you all to see how your ideas came together.

Thank you everyone for helping me in this assignment, and for the time you spend to read this blog.

3 comments on “How were you Compassionate Today?

  1. Hi Anne, This is probably too late for your psychology assignment but it is at least something I can share with you. Almost 6 years ago I made a commitment to an 85 year old friend of 40 years who has no children in our area that my family would take care of her as she got older and try to keep her in her home as long as it was physically and financially possible. 5 years along and she have been slowly declining with serious dementia and even difficulty knowing who people are BUT she loves her dog. I am with her in the mornings from 6 to just about 10, my wife is with her in the afternoon from 4 to 8 or 9 at night when she is firmly asleep. Thankfully she is still sleeping soundly for a full night and only from time to time do I have to stay overnight to make sure she doesn’t try to start a fire with paper in the microwave oven.

    The point of all this is that compassion is crucial for a civil society to survive but it costs the giver. I am not complaining just giving a heads up, if you get involved in a long term compassionate process it can be emotionally and spiritually draining and you must get some respite on a regular basis or you may start to become the one who needs care.
    Bill

    • Bill – Thank you so much for sharing your story. It’s so nice to see the effort people are willing to go to help each other. As a person without children, I might look to this example for hope that strong friendships may be just a helpful to me during my aging years.

      Weather it be compassion for family members or non-family members, we all need respite from such an involved act of compassion. I hope you and your wife are able to find time to be together as well.

      My assignment is complete, and you reminded me that I should post my summary for everyone who’s interested to see. Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Christian Swag | Called or Called Out

Leave a Reply

