Spelling in not my Strong Point

I apologize for any misspelled words and grammatical errors you see in my posts.  (I already had two corrections in my first sentence, thank you Spell Check).  Well some researchers at Cambridge University discovered that our brains are so good at reading and solving puzzles, that we can easily read misspelled words:

Mipellssed Wdors

Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn’t mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe. Amzanig huh?

 

I think this is how my brain sees all words, as a symbol rather than looking at each individual letter and noticing the spelling.  So when I try to write, I sound out the word in my head.  And thanks to learning improper English, it’s very difficult to spell correctly.

Now that I work for a company who puts a lot of emphasis on proper written communication (YES I took a spelling test for my current position as an engineer and one of the founders was an editor of an English dictionary and he was from Germany) well I have learned so much more working here than I did in school.  But it’s been a lot of work, and not has necessarily reformed my puzzle solving mind.

One comment on “Spelling in not my Strong Point

  1. Pingback: Puzzle Pieces « Writing with both sides of my brain

Leave a Reply

