Culinary Confusion – Again

Cilantro

Parsley

I did it again, I have confused another pair of ingredients when shopping at the store.  This time I purchased cilantro when I wanted parsley.  I could have easily noticed my error in advance because I strongly dislike the smell and taste of cilantro, but I had relied on a sign above the display and did not investigate on my own.  Also, the tie around the cilantro bunch was properly labeled so I know to check that next time.  These ingredients can be used as a substitute for each other in some recipes.

Cabbage

Last time I remember purchasing the wrong ingredient was in high school.  While shopping for taco ingredients I picked up cabbage when I wanted a head of iceberg lettuce.  There are subtle differences between these two and they are not typically individually labeled.  For tacos I wouldn’t mind the substitution, but my father was les than pleased with the idea.

Lettuce
Leave a Reply

