New Year’s Resolutions

We all know how difficult it is to achieve the high expectations we set ourselves in a New Year’s Resolution.  I’m still working on my resolutions from the past few years:

  • Lose Weight.
  • Buy more locally made products.
  • Spend more time keeping in touch with long distance friends.

So instead of feeling defeated for not fully accomplishing these goals,  I’m looking back on 2010 and listing all the steps I have taken to match my actions to my priorities.

  • Become a project leader for my local volunteer group.
  • Volunteer at Christmas.
  • Donate to NPR programs that I regularly listen to.
  • Participate in food drives and gift drives.
  • Be more supportive to my friends.
  • Read more labels on food and clothing to see where it’s made.
  • Rented videos from the library instead of going to movie theaters.
  • Read more and watch less TV.

This leads me to a new idea for a New Year’s Resolution.   I want to focus my time and effort this year to match my list of priorities (in a not so random order).

  1. Keep myself healthy and sane.
  2. Help the family when needed.
  3. Help my friends when needed.
  4. Buy locally made food and products.
  5. Support the programs I believe in (Children’s Trust Fund, buildOn after school kids program, Kiva micro-financing, NPR, and the Leopold Schepp Scholarship Foundation).
  6. Keep learning.
  7. Volunteer in my community.
  8. Attend community theater and performance of local bands.
  9. Use less resources and waste less.
  10. Help with extra overhead projects at work to enhance the transfer of knowledge from the outgoing management.

If we want to see positive change in the world, we have to do our part.  And well, money talks, so I have been evaluating how I spend my money.  Instead of spending money on professional sports, whose players can be greedy and arrogant, I’d rather support the community kids teams.  Well, I have an unfair advantage this year because I have accumulated enough clothing and miscellaneous items to last at least five years.

I still like setting more extreme resolutions hoping that the partial achievement will still have a major impact; and I’ll be considering what to plan for next year’s goal (maybe another big idea).

Leave a Reply

