Helpful Cleaning Tips

I don’t know how many people are aware of these cleaning tips:

  • Baking Soda – Good for whitening and for deodorizing, I scrubbed my white coat and white shirts clean with baking soda and water.  Here is an after picture of the results.
  • Bleach – Use to kill mold on household surfaces.77189_10203210727094721_1015293305_n
  • Hydrogen Peroxide – Removes blood stains (best if the stain does not dry, and do not wash an dry), be careful because it is a bleach.  Also used as an antibacterial/disinfectant, I have used to clean cuts.  Other uses
  • Borax or granular soap – clean tea stains out of mugs, or rub on dirty shirt collars to clean, then soak in the rinse water
  • Vinegar – Low level acid and antibacterial.  Use for killing germs and smells.  Good for cleaning Stainless Steel (my test) which tolerates few cleaners.
  • Toothpaste – Good for cleaning these 24 items, which makes you wonder if it’s too abrasive for teeth.  I posted about this a while back.
  • Armpit Stains – The yellowing is caused by the
    Cleaning Product Organizer

    Cleaning Product Organizer (Photo credit: Hey Paul Studios)

    aluminum in deodorant, not from sweat.  Hydrogen peroxide and baking soda mixed, rub into fabric, and let sit for 30 minutes works pretty well, just test out on colored fabrics first in a inconspicuous corner.  I have not yet tried this recommendation from Jillee: one part Dawn dishwashing liquid mixed with two parts hydrogen peroxide.  She has many other tips on her site also.

  • Apple Cider Vinegar – I use it on my hair to make it a little shinier and less frizzy, I use it on my skin to clear up any potential fungus, and use it to catch fruit flies
  • Sugar and Yeast – to make a mosquito trap, I haven’t tried this one for myself… yet.

Guides to Healthier Cleaning

Leave a Reply

